Main Menu

Australian Academy Announces Best Asian Film Nominees

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) has revealed the films nominated for this year’s AACTA Award for Best Asian Film presented by Eureka International Group (EIG).

In the last 12 months, Asian films have contributed $36 million AUD to the Australian box office, signalling the immense popularity of Asian cinema in Australia as the region’s film industries continue to boom and produce high-quality, internationally lauded titles. The AACTA Award for Best Asian Film presented by EIG recognises the exceptional calibre of films from the Asian region as well as their growing popularity, not just with audiences domestically within Australasia but also globally.

This year’s Best Asian Film nominees form a unique snapshot of the finest Asian films from the past year, from box-office hits and international film festival favourites to a Palme d’Or winner and multiple Best Foreign Language Film Oscar entries.

The nominees are:

  • 1987 WHEN THE DAY COMES (South Korea)
  • NEWTON (India)
  • SANJU (India)
  • TOMBIRUO (Malaysia)
  • YOUTH (China)

The winner of the Best Asian Film Award will be determined by the 2018 Best Asian Film Grand Jury, led by Oscar and multiple AFI and AACTA Award-winning actor Russell Crowe, who returns as President.

Also returning as jurors are: prolific Indian actor Anupam Kher (SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK, BEND IT LIKE BECKHAM, A WEDNESDAY!); five-time National Film Award of India Best Actress winner Shabana Azmi (NEERJA, THE BLACK PRINCE, ARTH); and Australian film critic, producer and presenter Margaret Pomeranz AM (THE MOVIE SHOW, AT THE MOVIES).

They will be joined by new Grand Jury members: Chinese screenwriter Liu Yi, whose film WOLF WARRIOR II is the most commercially successful Asian film in history, grossing $1 billion AUD in China in 14 days; AACTA Award-winning Australian director and producer Paul Currie (HACKSAW RIDGE, BLEEDING STEEL, THE LONGEST SHOT); Finnish director, producer and screenwriter Renny Harlin (DIE HARD 2, THE LONG KISS GOODNIGHT, SKIPTRACE); Award-winning South Korean director and cartoonist Woo-seok Yang (THE ATTORNEY, STEEL RAIN); and Japanese actress, director, producer and writer Kiki Sugino (YUKI ONNA, YOKUDÔ, HOSPITALITÉ).

“We are thrilled to see another incredible line-up of nominees for the Best Asian Film Award,” said AFI | AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella. “Not only have these nine films seen incredible success in their home countries, but they have also been critical and commercial hits here in Australia and abroad. We are proud to honour these world-class films and recognise the incredible work of our neighbouring Asian film industries.”

“We are excited to see such a wonderful slate of films nominated, representing regions from all around Asia,” said EIG Chairman Kelvin Dong. “As the presenting partner for the Best Asian Film Award, we are proud to join AACTA in recognising film excellence in Asia and congratulate the nominated films.”

The winner of the Award will be announced in Sydney at the 8th AACTA Awards Ceremony presented by Foxtel on Wednesday 5 December 2018.

« (Previous News)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.