Main Menu

Album Release: Anna Of The North – Dream Girl

Anna Of The North has announced her forthcoming second album Dream Girl, and shares infectious new single and title track. Dream Girl will be released on Friday, October 25 on Play It Again Sam

A trailer for the album has also been shared alongside the announcement. With her signature synth beats, whimsical melodies and her penchant for relatable and confessional lyrics, Anna Of The North has become one of the most enigmatic, and universally treasured pop artists out there.

Dream Girl – the brand new, enthralling second chapter from Anna Of The North which began its life earlier this year with the release of first track ‘Leaning On Myself’ and the subsequent follow-ups ‘Used To Be’ and ‘Thank Me Later’ (all of which are included in the album). These first introductions to Anna 2.0 boldly set the tone for what is to come – taking all she learnt from ‘Lovers’ and the years since and turning it into a 2019 fearlessness that runs consistently throughout the new album.

Across the 13-track record, it’s difficult not to fall totally in love with Anna’s incredibly infectious open-minded approach to life. The difference this time round is that now it really is just Anna Of The North – fleet-footed, over-spilling with the confidence of creativity and in full control of the decision-making processes, with her nerves steadied and ready to deliver her gallant solo address. As a result of her sole-commanding influence, the over-riding subject matter of ‘Dream Girl’ is exactly that – expertly exploring what it means to be a woman in the present day, how your romantic relationships don’t have to define who you are and ultimately, that being content standing on your own two feet is the most important thing.

Anna’s debut album, Lovers continues to take on an unexpected life of its own: approaching 180 million streams, these songs of heartache, guilt and the tentative joys of moving on have united a rich global audience in their intimate shared experiences. Few modern artists, too, could appear as at home working with Tyler, the Creator (Anna lent her vocals to two tracks on Flower Boy) and Rejjiie Snow as they are duetting with HONNE, playing with Anderson Paak or landing a viral remix by The Chainsmokers. The record’s word-of-mouth success culminated in the title track taking off via a surprise sync in Netflix’s seminal smash hit To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, though it’s a story that keeps evolving: Lovers is still streaming over 100K times per day, and made the top 100 charts in 171 countries. Anna of the North’s is a modern-day slow-burn fitting for songs to fall in love to, and an artist even more people, you sense, are about to fall in love with…

All of which has led Anna to where she finds herself in now; a rare songwriter who strikes an emotional chord regardless of continent, collaborator or genre. A pop star who has perhaps always been hiding in plain sight.

Anna of the North
Dream Girl

1. Dream Girl
2. Leaning On Myself
3. Time To Get Over It
4. My Love
5. Lonely Life
6. Interlude
7. Thank Me Later
8. Used To Be
9. What We Do
10. Playing Games
11. When R U Coming Home
12. Reasons feat. Charlie Skien
13. If U Wanna


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.