banner image

:: Spotlight :: City of Stonnington’s 2008 Fashion Hall of Fame

By: Carmine Pascuzzi

Iconic Australian designer Jenny Hoo and milliner Paris Kyne were inducted into the City of Stonnington’s 2008 Fashion Hall of Fame in February 2008 in front of more than four hundred ardent fashion aficionados.

Hoo and Kyne joined an enviable list of the Australian fashion industries most talented and recognisable names in a glittering ceremony held at the Prahran Town Hall. Other Fashion Hall of Fame luminaries include Alannah Hill, Joe Saba, Perri Cutten, Barbara Wilson, Craig Kimberley, David Medwin, Charlie Digby, Prue Acton, Mark Burnett, John Cavill, Margaret Porritt, Peter Jago, Sally Browne, Lisa Barron, Adele Palmer, Eugene Notermans, Gary Zecevic, Glen Rollason, Jane Lamberton, Karen Merkel, Lillian Frank, Tiffany Treloar, Wendy Mead, Jenny Bannister and the late Rennie Ellis.

All Inductees got their start in Stonnington, which boasts more fashion designers than anywhere else in Melbourne. The evening was hosted by former newsreader Jo Pearson, and was a celebration of both high-end and emerging fashion Stonnington-style. Seven of the Style Councils, finest emerging designers were involved in the parade, including; Mary Zaf and Pippa Joseph from Jaakan, Leigh Eade from The Dispensary, Christine Boyles from Queen, Natalie Shields from Maru, Rebecca Strothers from Strothers, Harmony Lam from Harmony Lam and Olivia Twichett and Claire Tonge from Twitchett and Tonge.


Pictures from the event

Hall Of Fame inductees - Paris Kyne (left) and Jenny Hoo
Gail Mayorkinos, Julie Ireland & Therese Barwick Adrian Conti & Natalie Shields
Margaret Porritt & Emily Morris Jenny Bannister & Christine Boyle
Katie Jans & Sarah Wall Bella Caruso and mum Lisa Barron