banner image

:: Spotlight :: 2007 L'Oreal Professionnel Colour Trophy - National Finals

By: Carmine Pascuzzi; photos by Matt Deller

The nation’s top salons wowed judges at the Palms At Crown for the 12th L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy National Finals.

Major awards for the night included the Next Generation Award to Amanda Ogilvy from Cataldo’s in ACT, the Men's Colour Award went to FMK in NSW, and Head Studio Urban Retreat in Western Australia won the big prize - the L’Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy.

Hosted by Daniel MacPherson, the spectacular event showcased the nation’s hottest hair trends with a special musical performance from Jade MacRae. Special guest of the ceremony was Zoe Irwin, one of the leading British hair stylists, who presented a stunning international showcase of Spring/Summer 2007 trends for guests including Australia’s top hairdressers as well as Melbourne’s celebrity and social scene. As the international creative director of leading UK salon Headmasters, Zoe is a strong supporter of the competition and believes it to be “a brilliant platform for Australian hairdressers to be exposed to the industry and media alike”.

Marie Cain and her Head Studio Urban Retreat won a trip for two to London and Paris with spending money and two education courses at the L’Oréal Professionnel Academy in the UK.


L’Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy - Rose Cain & Marie Cain, Head Studio Urban Retreat, WA
Next Generation Award - Amanda Ogilvy, Cataldo’s ACT
Men's Style Gallery Award - FMK, NSW

The L’Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy is in its twelfth year in Australia. It was launched in the UK 52 years ago and is now held in 25 countries worldwide. The 15 National Finalists were chosen from over 1200 initial entrants. Judges for the Trophy include leading international hairdressers and magazine editors from both trade and consumer titles.


Pictures from the event by Matt Deller

Perth's Marie Cain won the big prize - the National Colour Trophy award Marie and her mother Rose Maree
Jess and Jo Love Sally Wise & Stephanie Giadina
Lisa & Anna Fraiia Marie Cain & Kaitlyn Barry
Carly Vickers Rachel Dezyva & Amber Dekruiff
L'Oreal's Mark Tucker Geoffrey Herberg & Natalie Lynn