banner image

:: Spotlight :: 69th Festival de Cannes - awards wrap

By: Carmine Pascuzzi

Un Certain Regard 2016 presented in competition 18 films hailing from 20 different countries. 7 of the works were first films. The Opening film was ESHTEBAK (CLASH) by Mohamed Diab. Under the presidency of Marthe Keller (actress - Switzerland), the Jury was comprised of Jessica Hausner (director, producer - Austria), Diego Luna (actor, director, producer - Mexico), Ruben Östlund (director - Sweden) and Céline Sallette (actress - France).

Prize of Un Certain Regard


Jury Prize


Prize for Best Director


Prize for Best Screenplay

Delphine Coulin & Muriel Coulin for VOIR DU PAYS (THE STOPOVER)

Special Prize Un Certain Regard

LA TORTUE ROUGE (THE RED TURTLE) by Michael Dudok de Wit


The Cinéfondation and Short Films Jury headed by Naomi Kawase and including Marie-Josée Croze, Jean-Marie Larrieu, Radu Muntean and Santiago Loza, has awarded the 2016 Cinéfondation Prizes during a ceremony held in the Buñuel Theatre, followed by the screening of the winning films. The Cinéfondation Selection consisted of 18 student films, chosen out of 2 350 entries coming from 548 film schools around the world.

First Prize

ANNA directed by Or Sinai
The Sam Spiegel Film & TV School, Israel

Second Prize

IN THE HILLS directed by Hamid Ahmadi
The London Film School, United Kingdom

Joint Third Prize

A NYALINTÁS NESZE directed by Nadja Andrasev
Moholy-Nagy University of Art and Design, Hungary

LA CULPA, PROBABLEMENTE directed by Michael Labarca
Universidad de Los Andes, Venezuela

The Festival de Cannes allocates a €15,000 grant for the First Prize, €11,250 for the Second and €7,500 for the Third.
The winner of the First Prize is also guaranteed the presentation of their first feature film at the Festival de Cannes.
The Cinéfondation will grant the three winners prizes of an equal value – €15,000 for the First, €11,250 for the Second and €7,500 for the Third – provided that a feature film project is presented within two years of the film award.

| |

After Agnès Varda in 2015, Clint Eastwood, Manoel de Oliveira, Woody Allen and Bernardo Bertolucci in recent years, tribute was paid to the French actor Jean-Pierre Léaud during the Festival de Cannes. The honorary Palme d’or of the Festival’s 69th edition was awarded during the Closing Ceremony on Sunday May 22.

Jean-Pierre Léaud is part of the Cannes legend. He was discovered by François Truffaut who made him the young hero of his first film, Les 400 Coups (The 400 Blows), and made his first appearance on the Croisette in 1959 as an extrovert, unruly 14-year-old. His spontaneity was representative of the wind of freedom that the French New Wave brought to cinema. Antoine Doinel and François Truffaut continued to support him with Antoine et Colette (Antoine and Colette) (1962), Baisers volés (Stolen Kisses) (1968), Domicile conjugal (Bed and Board) (1970) and L'Amour en fuite (Love on the Run) (1979).

As early as 1965, he began what was to be a long partnership with Jean-Luc Godard; Masculin féminin (1966) and La Chinoise (1967) are considered to be committed and forward-thinking highlights of their collaboration. Fascinated by cinematographic language, Jean-Pierre Léaud was even assistant director for several films by Godard (Pierrot le fou (Crazy Pete), Alphaville) and Truffaut (La Peau douce) (The Soft Skin). He can also be found in films by Bernardo Bertolucci (Last Tango in Paris) or Jacques Rivette (Out 1). In La Maman et la Putain (The Mother and the Whore) (1973), his offbeat acting, between poetry and flippancy, was offered an unequalled setting and consecrated him once and for all. The film by Jean Eustache was emblematic for a whole generation and received the Jury’s Special Grand Prix at the Festival de Cannes before becoming a cult film.

Since then, the passionate and clumsy, idealistic and disenchanted or enigmatic characters he plays are part of the universes of Aki Kaurismäki (I Hired a Contract Killer), Olivier Assayas (Paris s’éveille (Paris Awakes), Irma Vep), Lucas Belvaux (Pour rire) (Just for Laughs), Philippe Garrel (La Naissance de l’amour) (The Birth of Love), Bertrand Bonello (Le Pornographe) (The Pornographer) or even Tsai Ming-liang (Et là-bas quelle heure est-il ? (What Time is it There?) or Visage (Face), presented in Competition at Cannes in 2009).


The jury of the International Federation of Film Critics, FIPRESCI, has awarded the International Critics' Prize to the following films presented at the 69th Cannes Film Festival:

In the Official Selection:

Competition - TONI ERDMANN by Maren Ade

Un Certain Regard - CAINI (DOGS) by Bogdan Mirica

To a first film in the parallel sections, Directors' Fortnight or Le Semaine de la Critique - GRAVE (RAW) by Julia Ducournau


The Feature Films Jury, presided by the director George Miller, has unveiled the names of the 69th Festival de Cannes prizewinners on the Grand Théâtre Lumière stage. I, Daniel Blake by Ken Loach, Palme d’or, was screened at the end of the Awards Ceremony to close this 2016 edition of the Festival.


Palme d'or
I, DANIEL BLAKE directed by Ken LOACH

Grand Prix
JUSTE LA FIN DU MONDE (It's Only the End of the World) directed by Xavier DOLAN

Best Director ex æquo
Cristian MUNGIU for BACALAUREAT (Graduation)


Best Screenplay
Asghar FARHADI for FORUSHANDE (The Salesman)

Jury Prize
AMERICAN HONEY directed by Andrea ARNOLD

Best Performance by an Actress
Jaclyn JOSE in MA' ROSA directed by Brillante MENDOZA

Best Performance by an Actor

Shahab HOSSEINI in FORUSHANDE (The Salesman) directed by Asghar FARHADI

The Jury of the CST has awarded the VULCAN AWARD OF THE TECHNICAL ARTIST to:SEONG-HIE RYU, for the artistic direction, with great inspiration, for the movie MADEMOISELLE (The Handmaiden/Agassi) by PARK Chan-Wook.


Palme d'or
TIMECODE directed by Juanjo GIMENEZ

Special Mention from the Jury
A MOÇA QUE DANÇOU COM O DIABO (The Girl Who Danced With the Devil) directed by João Paulo MIRANDA MARIA


DIVINES réalisé par Houda BENYAMINA présenté dans le cadre de la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs