banner image

:: Spotlight :: Moonlight Cinema 2009/2010

By: Carmine Pascuzzi

There’s nothing quite like that first hint of summer after a long chilly winter, and one sure-fire sign that it’s time to pack away the thermals is the highly anticipated return of Ford Fiesta Moonlight Cinema for another season of memorable movie-going under the stars.

Tucked away in the depths of the spectacular Royal Botanic Gardens, Ford Fiesta Moonlight Cinema is again set to be the star attraction on Melbourne’s summer entertainment calendar. Adjacent to the Yarra River and within easy walking distance of the Melbourne CBD, the Royal Botanic Gardens is a picturesque location for outdoor cinema, surrounded by tranquil lakes, towering trees and stunning vistas that provide the perfect backdrop for an impressive schedule of new release, classic and cult films.

The outdoor film festival opens on December 17, 2009 with the much anticipated Melbourne premiere of Nowhere Boy, the untold story of Beatles legend John Lennon’s childhood starring Kristin Scott Thomas and Aaron Johnson, and closes on March 14, 2010 with James Cameron’s latest Sci-Fi thriller, Avatar.

Valentine’s Day on February 14, 2010 will again be a season highlight, with the premiere of New York, I Love You, the incredible anthology of stories from some of our most celebrated filmmakers. Set in one of the most loved cities in the world, New York, I Love You features an impressive ensemble of stars including Orlando Bloom, Natalie Portman, Ethan Hawke, Andy Garcia, Blake Lively and Hayden Christensen to name just a few.

On Thursday, January 7, 2010, it’s time to start howling at the moon as the enormously popular ‘Dog Night’ returns to Ford Fiesta Moonlight Cinema. Pooches across Melbourne are encouraged to bring their people along for a special screening of the animation hit of 2009, Up.

Whether you plan to snuggle up to your sweetheart or hang out with your mates, there simply is no better way to spend a summer evening. So dust off the picnic hamper and mark the dates in your diary. The 2009/2010 Ford Fiesta Moonlight Cinema schedule has something for everyone, with a feast of films covering every genre you could image, including the big new release movies like New Moon, Where The Wild Things Are, In The Loop, Avatar and Sherlock Holmes.

For a night out with the family, there’s Up, G-Force, Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel and a preview of Fantastic Mr. Fox. Or if you’re keen to catch a flick with the chicks, check out Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Couples Retreat, Did You Hear About The Morgans?, Julie and Julia and The Lovely Bones.

Moonlight Cinema continues the tradition of delivering your cult favourites in big screen encores like The Commitments, Grease, Napoleon Dynamite, Saturday Night Fever, Monty Python’s Life of Brian, The Blues Brothers, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, Pulp Fiction, Top Gun and Zoolander.

On those warm, balmy nights when a gentle breeze drifts across our lush city gardens, Moonlight fans all agree that the best way to soak up the last rays of sunshine is to kick back with good friends and tuck into a picnic and a sunset six-pack before getting up close and personal with the stars on the big screen.

And the hamper-challenged needn’t despair. If whipping up a gourmet feast leaves you cold, on-site catering is on hand with a tempting selection of food to cover all culinary craving. And of course there’s a fantastic selection of wine, beer and other beverages.

December 17 2009 – March 14 2010
ROYAL BOTANIC GARDENS
ENTRY VIA GATE D ON BIRDWOOD AVENUE

TICKETS:
ADULT FROM $15
CONCESSION FROM $13
CHILD/PENSIONER FROM $11
GOLD GRASS: $32
BEAN BEDS AVAILABLE FOR HIRE

TICKETS AT THE GATE FROM 7.00pm, SCREENING STARTS AT SUNDOWN APPROX. 8.30pm

LICENSED BAR & CATERING AVAILABLE FROM THE SOUL KITCHEN

Gold Grass
Ford Fiesta Moonlight Cinema Gold Grass luxury tickets deliver star treatment all the way, including entry to the screening of your choice, a reserved bean bed in a premium roped off area on the lawn and a glass of wine.

Gift Vouchers
Make someone’s Christmas even more special with a Moonlight Gift Voucher which can be purchased online at moonlight.com.au

Moonlight Movie Club
Join the Moonlight Movie Club for the cheapest tickets at Moonlight and other benefits at moonlight.com.au


Full Schedule

Thursday, December 17 - Nowhere Boy
Friday, December 18 - Ponyo
Saturday, December 19 - Fantastic Mr. Fox
Sunday, December 20 - Funny People
Monday, December 21 - CLOSED
Tuesday, December 22 - The Box
Wednesday, December 23 - Twilight
Thursday, December 24 - Monty Python's Life of Brian
Friday, December 25 - CLOSED
Saturday, December 26 - New Moon
Sunday, December 27 - New Moon
Monday, December 28 - CLOSED
Tuesday, December 29 - Top Gun
Wednesday, December 30 - Julie and Julia
Thursday, December 31 - CLOSED
Friday, January 1 - CLOSED
Saturday, January 2 - The Hangover
Sunday, January 3 - Breakfast At Tiffany's
Monday, January 4 - CLOSED
Tuesday, January 5 - Couples Retreat
Wednesday, January 6 - Ferris Bueller's Day Off
Thursday, January 7 - Up (Doggie Night)
Friday, January 8 - G-Force
Saturday, January 9 - The Invention of Lying
Sunday, January 10 - MIFF Shorts
Monday, January 11 - CLOSED
Tuesday, January 12 - In the Loop
Wednesday, January 13 - Saturday Night Fever
Thursday, January 14 - Whip It!
Friday, January 15 - Mao's Last Dancer
Saturday, January 16 - 2012
Sunday, January 17 - A Christmas Carol
Monday, January 18 - CLOSED
Tuesday, January 19 - Zombieland
Wednesday, January 20 - Where the Wild Things Are
Thursday, January 21 - An Education
Friday, January 22 - Avatar
Saturday, January 23 - Avatar
Sunday, January 24 - Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel
Monday, January 25 - Grease
Tuesday, January 26 - Mamma Mia!
Wednesday, January 27 - The Boys Are Back
Thursday, January 28 - The Informant!
Friday, January 29 - Breakfast At Tiffany's
Saturday, January 30 - Michael Jackson's This Is It
Sunday, January 31 - The Wizard of Oz
Monday, February 1 - CLOSED
Tuesday, February 2 - Moon
Wednesday, February 3 - The Godfather
Thursday, February 4 - The Commitments
Friday, February 5 - Did You Hear About the Morgans?
Saturday, February 6 - Did You Hear About the Morgans?
Sunday, February 7 - Slumdog Millionaire
Monday, February 8 - CLOSED
Tuesday, February 9 - Capitalism: A Love Story
Wednesday, February 10 - District 9
Thursday, February 11 - Pulp Fiction
Friday, February 12 - Sherlock Holmes
Saturday, February 13 - Sherlock Holmes
Sunday, February 14 - New York, I Love You
Monday, February 15 - CLOSED
Tuesday, February 16 - The Blues Brothers
Wednesday, February 17 - The Imaginarium of Dr Parnassus
Thursday, February 18 - The Dark Knight
Friday, February 19 - It's Complicated
Saturday, February 20 - It's Complicated
Sunday, February 21 - New Moon
Monday, February 22 - CLOSED
Tuesday, February 23 - Nowhere Boy
Wednesday, February 24 - Paranormal Activity
Thursday, February 25 - The Rocky Horror Picture Show
Friday, February 26 - Old Dogs
Saturday, February 27 - The Tooth Fairy
Sunday, February 28 - Inglourious Basterds
Monday, March 1 - CLOSED
Tuesday, March 2 - Edward Scissorhands
Wednesday, March 3 - In the Loop
Thursday, March 4 - Zoolander
Friday, March 5 - Napoleon Dynamite
Saturday, March 6 - Bran Nue Dae
Sunday, March 7 - Fantastic Mr. Fox
Monday, March 8 - CLOSED
Tuesday, March 9 - Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen
Wednesday, March 10 - Up in the Air
Thursday, March 11 - Broken Embraces
Friday, March 12 - The Lovely Bones
Saturday, March 13 - Bright Star
Sunday, March 14 - Avatar

**************************************************************************

For more information, visit

www.moonlight.com.au