banner image

The Who - Live At The Isle Of Wight

Eagle Rock Entertainment is honored to release an historic set of music with The Who's legendary concert performance Live At The Isle of Wight on DVD on August 10, 2004. Supported with a nationwide theatrical premiere at Regal Entertainment Group movie theaters across the country on August 9th, the concert event will also be broadcast in high definition on INHD later in the month, beginning August 14th.

The DVD is available for the first time in DTS audio and features the original Who lineup and an exclusive 40-minute interview with Who guitarist, Pete Townshend. Under the expert supervision of Townshend and Murray Lerner, the film's director, this epic concert film has been completely remastered, remixed and restored to an astonishing degree. Original negatives and reversal rolls were used to convert the film to HD, and the audio was remixed using a total of 16 tracks recorded at the festival.

The concert film also includes a performance of The Who's top-selling rock opera, "Tommy," and some of the band's most popular songs including "Eyesight To The Blind Boy," "The Acid Queen," "We're Not Gonna Take It" and "Fiddle About."

The exclusive in-theater premiere event will include a special 10 minute cut of the revealing interview with band guitarist Pete Townshend, as well as an in-theater-only introductory segment by Academy Award winning filmmaker Murray Lerner. The Who - Live At The Isle of Wight will premier in 49 select Regal Cinemas, United Artists Theaters and Edwards Theaters nationwide on Monday, August 9th.

On August 30, 1970, a total of 600,000 people gathered for the last of three consecutive annual music festivals at the Isle of Wight to see rock 'n' roll legends The Who perform what would be one of their most memorable concerts to date. Starting at 2 a.m., this small island off the coast of England exploded with cheers as The Who took the stage, clapping to the long-awaited classic hits including "Water," "Magic Bus," Heaven And Hell," "I Can't Explain," Pinball Wizard," I'm Free," and many more.

The Guinness Book of Records recorded this event as the largest gathering ever of human beings. Band members Roger Daltrey (vocals), John Entwistle (bass), Keith Moon (drums) and Pete Townshend (guitar) pounded out seven of their most popular songs, plus 13 additional songs from their rock opera "Tommy," created in 1969 and later turned into a hit Broadway musical in 1993.

The live performance ended at 5 a.m. with Moon destroying his drum set and Townshend smashing his electric guitar. In the history of rock, The Who once again proved to be the greatest live act around.

Live At the Isle Of Wight Track List:
1. Heaven and Hell
2. I Can't Explain
3. Young Man Blues
4. I Don't Even Know Myself
5. Water
6. Shakin' All Over
7. Spoonful/Twist and Shout
8. Summertime Blues
9. My Generation
10. Magic Bus
11. Overture
12. It's a Boy
13. Eyesight to the Blind (The Hawker)
14. Christmas
15. The Acid Queen
16. Pinball Wizard
17. Do You Think It's Alright
18. Fiddle About
19. Go to the Mirror
20. Miracle Cure
21. I'm Free
22. Tommy's Holiday Camp
23. We're Not Gonna Take It

Provided by the MusicDish Network. Copyright © Tag It 2004 - Republished with Permission