banner image

:: Kaiser Chiefs - Live At Elland Road

Filmed in 2008, ‘Live At Elland Road’ is the new concert DVD by the Kaiser Chiefs. It was a dream come true for the band - to play in front of a capacity crowd of 40,000 at the Leeds United football ground. The stadium shows a sea of arms waving in appreciation to a band that literally began around the corner in Leeds.

Kaiser Chiefs give me the impression that they are much better and comfortable on the live stage than on record. This DVD is proof of how proficient they are, connecting so well with the audience. The concert is one big homecoming party. It's a chance to see one of the UK's top bands in top form.

This set covers so many of their best known songs with some from the new album for good measure. It is well produced and the sound is excellent. As a bonus there are six songs from the 2007 BBC Electric Proms, including an orchestra, totally different from the Elland Road experience, but still an excellent bonus section. In true English style they performed a cover of Wings’ classic hit ‘Jet’ and finished up with a patriotic rendition of the Land Of Hope And Glory. In the latter the group were showered in what appeared to be 99 luftballons (red balloons) and this spectacle even had the conductor of the orchestra grinning.

This is a fine DVD package with approximately two hours of concert footage and something to really enjoy.


Live At Elland Road
1. Everything Is Average Nowadays
2. Everyday I Love You Less And Less
3. Heat Dies Down
4. Born To Be A Dancer
5. Can't Say What I Mean
6. Ruby
7. Saturday Night
8. Modern Way
9. Never Miss A Beat
10. Retirement
11. Na Na Na Na Naa
12. You Want History
13. I Predict A Riot / Take My Temperature
14. The Angry Mob
15. Love's Not A Competition (But I'm Winning)
16. Half The Truth
17. Thank You Very Much
18. Oh My God

Live From The BBC Electric Proms
1. Modern Way
2. Jet
3. Ruby
4. The Angry Mob
5. Oh My God
6. Land Of Hope & Glory