banner image

:: Spotlight :: 2009 ARIA Hall Of Fame

By: Carmine Pascuzzi

ARIA (Australian Recording Industry Association) is set to induct another five of Australia’s most popular music acts into the renowned ARIA HALL OF FAME, in the annual ceremony to be held at Melbourne’s Forum Theatre on Thursday, August 27. This year’s inductees are John Paul Young, Kev Carmody, Little Pattie, Mental As Anything and The Dingoes, each recipient expressing their gratitude at the honour bestowed upon them by ARIA.

“I do feel proud and humbled to accept this Induction into the ARIA Hall of Fame, on behalf of my Culture, my Community and my Family.” KEV CARMODY

“This induction into the ARIA Hall Of Fame comes as such a surprise, I wasn’t expecting it, I am so thrilled and honoured. It’s incredibly special to be joining my cousin Chrissy in receiving this recognition.” LITTLE PATTIE

“It is an honour to be inducted into the ARIA Hall of Fame alongside all the great Australian acts who are already there and those that will be included in the future. We had no inkling of such things when we did our first gigs as an art school party band in 1976. I would like to thank the fans who have supported us and all the people in the industry that we have worked with over the years”. MENTAL AS ANYTHING’S REG MOMBASSA

“The last time I was inducted, it was into the army, this certainly feels a whole lot better. Seriously, the band feels honoured and privileged to be recognised by our peers by being inducted into the ARIA Hall of Fame. For all of us, it’s going to be one hell of a reunion!” BRODERICK SMITH FROM THE DINGOES

“It's an honour to be inducted into the ARIA Hall of Fame, now point me to the lounge room, I wonder who's in there.” JOHN PAUL YOUNG

The ARIA Hall Of Fame event will be held on THURSDAY, AUGUST 27 at Melbourne’s Forum Theatre. An annual, stand-alone event since 2005, the ARIA Hall Of Fame honours Australian musicians’ achievements locally and internationally. In addition to the inductions, this year’s event will feature a host of very special live music performances, with the premiere telecast on VH1 confirmed for Friday, August 28 at 8.30pm and the encore broadcast set down for the Nine Network nationally on Saturday, August 29 at 2pm.

ARIA Chairman, and President and CEO of Warner Music Australasia, Mr Ed St John, said today ““The ARIA Hall of Fame has become one of the most memorable and anticipated events of the music calendar – a night to celebrate the achievements of iconic Australian performers and to dive deeply into the depths of our rich rock & roll history. It’s a night of tears and laughter and some brilliant stories – a night that none of us would ever want to miss. The five artists being inducted this year have made incredible contributions to Australian music and I know I speak for the ARIA board and the entire industry when I say it’s a real honour to be inducting them this year.”

Doors: 6.00pm
Awards Ceremony commences: 7.00pm
Premiere Broadcast on VH1: Friday, August 28 at 8.30pm
Encore Broadcast with the Nine Network nationally: Saturday, August 29 at 2.00pm

1988 – 2008 (no inductees in 2000)
1988: Dame Joan Sutherland, Johnny O'Keefe, Slim Dusty, Col Joye, Vanda & Young, AC/DC
1989: Dame Nellie Melba, Ross Wilson
1990: Percy Grainger, Sherbet
1991: Billy Thorpe, Glenn Shorrock, Don Burrows, Pete Dawson
1992: Skyhooks
1993: Cold Chisel, Peter Allen
1994: Men At Work
1995: The Seekers
1996: Australian Crawl, Horrie Dargie
1997: The Bee Gees, Paul Kelly, Graeme Bell
1998: The Masters Apprentices, The Angels
1999: Richard Clapton, Jimmy Little
2001: INXS, The Saints
2002: Olivia Newton John
2003: John Farnham
2004: Little River Band
2005: The Easybeats, Smoky Dawson, Renee Geyer, Hunters & Collectors, Normie Rowe, Split Enz, Jimmy Barnes
2006: Divinyls, Rose Tattoo, Helen Reddy, Daddy Cool, Icehouse, Lobby Loyde, Midnight Oil
2007: Frank Ifield, Hoodoo Gurus, Marcia Hines, Jo Jo Zep + The Falcons, Brian Cadd, Radio Birdman, Nick Cave
2008: Russell Morris, Dragon, Max Merritt, The Triffids, Rolf Harris, John Laws